The Gospel Plowboys – Welcome Home

The Gospel Plowboys, based in Salisbury, NC, combines the talents of David Murph (mandolin), John Goodson (banjo), Michael Jenkins (guitar), David Brown (guitar, bass), Andrew Brown (bass, dobro) and Kris Miller (guitar). Between the six musicians, five are vocalists as well. While their music is what brings them to the stage, their mission is what brought them together first. As founding member, David Murph says, “Plowing the ground, planting the seed, that Christ died for you. When we play a show, our mission is to present heartfelt music with the message that Christ paid the ultimate sacrifice for all of us.” And if the band’s debut release for Mountain Fever Records, Welcome Home, is anything, it is certainly proof positive that their message is being delivered in a very sincere way.Master_2D
Drawing songs straight from old church hymnals, to that of writers in bluegrass and gospel music, Welcome Home will surely tug on the heartstrings of every listener. The album opens with “Dearest Friend” written by G.T. Speer and moves quickly into a traditional hymn, “Red River.” The band reached back for some bluegrass gospel standards such as the Bill Castle original, “The Dream,” first recorded by IIIrd Tyme Out, as well as Ralph Stanley’s “Daniel Prayed.” The title track, written by Indiana evangelist Billy Fields, is perhaps the crown jewel of the album both in subject matter and performance, fulfilling God’s promise to all that answer the gospel call:

Welcome home, I knew you’d come
Welcome home, you’re here for good
Look around, was it worth the wait
Welcome home, step through the gate

These lyrics perfectly sum up a collection of songs that support the very message The Gospel Plowboys carry wherever they go. 

Welcome Home truly sums upThe Gospel Plowboys’ motto: ‘Plowing the ground, planting the seed…That Christ died for you.’ A five star album!”
— John Sentell, The Bluegrass Gospel Hour —

Welcome Home Track List:

  1. Dearest Friend
  2. Red River
  3. Saved By The Blood
  4. Welcome Home
  5. Daniel Prayed
  6. The Dream
  7. Rise and Shine
  8. Lord I’ll Go On For You
  9. Because He Lives
  10. Everybody Will Be Happy
  11. Forever On My Knees
  12. It Is Well

The Gospel Plowboys’ debut album for Mountain Fever, produced by Aaron Ramsey, is available to radio and consumers today. Radio programmers may download the album viaAirPlayDirect or through a digital download by emailing Consumers may purchase Welcome Home wherever great music is sold, including thesedigital outlets. For more about The Gospel Plowboys, visit